Muladhara is the chakra of physical wellness.

Muladhara: The chakra of wellbeing

Also called the Root Chakra, this energy vortex is located at your pelvic floor. When you sit down, directly beneath you is where this powerful wheel creates your overall balance. When it is healthy and aligned you will enjoy a strong column supporting all the rest. Health, safety, stability, and plenty rest on this solid foundation.

When it is misaligned your perception of well-being is undermined. Illness, fear, chaos, and poverty mentality seep from a cracked bedrock. But is there too much  energy crumbling it, or not enough energy allowing it to sink and fracture?

The first cycle of The 49 Professions of Joy redefines how you create your reality. According to Maslow’s Hierarchy of Needs, until you feel healthy and safe, you cannot prioritize anything else. This is your opportunity to provide fundamentals for yourself, especially if you feel you cannot trust anyone else to help you. In fact, you should generate that internal resilience yourself. It can then be nourished by your external relationships. First get right with your internal relationship. Balance exercise with innercise!

A practice that has helped me is writing with specificity, literally defining my intentions. It gives me a target for my energy, drawing my focus away from fear. I am not asking you to put your faith in any particular concept of direct and immediate attraction. What I am encouraging you to remember is that where you put your attention is where you put your action. Proactively envision your unique, ideal life.


Chakra 2: Feeling


Chakra 3: Action


Chakra 4: Connection


Chakra 5: Communication


Chakra 6: Knowledge


Chakra 7: Spirit