Anahata is the chakra of love and connection.

Anahata: The chakra of connection

Also called the Heart Chakra, this energy vortex is located in the center of your chest beside your heart. This is the halfway point, connecting and balancing your physical chakras with your metaphysical chakras. It is the intersection: By its nature it is our source of connectivity within and between ourselves and each other. This “I LOVE” is not the English idea of love, but rather resembles the Classical Greek. There is love of self; romantic love; patriotism; friendship, family, neighborliness, and community fellowship; loyalty; and many other types of connection. When it is healthy and aligned you will share harmony. Cooperation, friendship, collaboration, and appreciation are life’s blood flowing from your heart. They grow gradually, putting out roots, tangling each other in a thicket of interdependence.

When it is misaligned your sprouts are stunted by isolation, hatred, jealousy, and ingratitude. But is there too much energy feeding choking weeds, or not enough energy withering your budding flowers?

The fourth cycle of The 49 Professions of Joy redefines how you form bonds. As I said before, this goes beyond dating and marriage. This is the tree bearing fruit. That includes empathy, compassion, and encouragement. This is generosity in all its forms.

There are millions of plant species, and endless ways we touch each other. We ourselves are the network. There are not only rose bushes, fruit trees, and gorgeous Japanese maples. There are weeds, vines, and brambles. Some flowers are beautiful but toxic: Beware the daffodils growing in your garden.


Chakra 1: Wellbeing


Chakra 2: Feeling


Chakra 3: Action


Chakra 5: Communication


Chakra 6: Knowledge


Chakra 7: Spirit